Faculty Leadership

The leadership of the Center for Jewish Studies includes faculty from three schools at Harvard–Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS), Harvard Divinity School and Harvard Law School–as well as thirteen different academic departments within the FAS.

David Stern

David Stern

Director

Harry Starr Professor of Classical and Modern Jewish and Hebrew Literature and Professor of Comparative Literature
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Department of Comparative Literature

David Stern joined the faculty of the Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations in Harvard in July 2015, after teaching at the University of Pennsylvania for many years. 

Read David Stern’s full bio

Executive Committee

Irit Aharony

Irit Aharony

Senior Preceptor in Modern Hebrew

aharony@fas.harvard.edu

 Shaye J.D. Cohen

Shaye J.D. Cohen

Nathan Littauer Professor of Hebrew Literature and Philosophy

scohen@fas.harvard.edu

Noah Feldman

Noah Feldman

Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law

Director, Julis-Rabinowitz Program on Jewish and Israeli Law

nfeldman@law.harvard.edu

Jay M. Harris

Jay M. Harris

Harvard College Professor and Harry Austryn Wolfson Professor of Jewish Studies

jharris@g.harvard.edu

Peter E. Gordon

Peter E. Gordon

Amabel B. James Professor of History
Faculty Affiliate, Department of Germanic Languages & Literatures, & Department of Philosophy

pgordon@fas.harvard.edu

Joseph Koerner

Joseph Koerner

Victor S. Thomas Professor of the History of Art and Architecture
Senior Fellow, Society of Fellows

koerner@fas.harvard.edu

Jon D. Levenson

Jon D. Levenson

Albert A. List Professor of Jewish Studies

jon_levenson@harvard.edu

Luis Manuel Girón-Negrón

Luis Manuel Girón-Negrón

Professor of Comparative Literature and of Romance Languages and Literatures

giron@fas.harvard.edu

Eric Nelson

Eric Nelson

Robert M. Beren Professor of Government

enelson@fas.harvard.edu

Derek J. Penslar

Derek J. Penslar

William Lee Frost Professor of Jewish History

dpenslar@fas.harvard.edu

Julia Rhyder

Julia Rhyder

Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

juliarhyder@fas.harvard.edu

D. Andrew Teeter

D. Andrew Teeter

Professor of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament

ateeter@hds.harvard.edu

Saul Noam Zaritt

Saul Noam Zaritt

Associate Professor of Yiddish Literature
(On Leave 2021-2022
)

zaritt@fas.harvard.edu

Advisory Committee

Charles Berlin

Charles Berlin

Lee M. Friedman Bibliographer in Judaica

cberlin@fas.harvard.edu

stephen_greenblatt

Stephen Greenblatt

John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities

greenbl@fas.harvard.edu

Paul J. Kosmin

Paul J. Kosmin

John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Humanities; Joy Foundation Fellow

pjkosmin@fas.harvard.edu

Kevin Madigan

Kevin Madigan

Winn Professor of Ecclesiastical History
Faculty Dean, Eliot House, Harvard College

kmadigan@hds.harvard.edu

Elisa New

Elisa New

Powell M. Cabot Professor of American Literature

enew@fas.harvard.edu

Kay Kaufman Shelemay

Kay Kaufman Shelemay

G. Gordon Watts Professor of Music and Professor of African and African American Studies
Mather House SCR Associate Member

shelemay@fas.harvard.edu

Doris Sommer

Doris Sommer

Ira Jewell Williams, Jr., Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and in African and African American Studies

dsommer@fas.harvard.edu

Executive Committee Emeriti

James Kugel

James Kugel

former Harry M. Starr Professor of Classical and Modern Hebrew Literature; Associate of the Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Bernard Septimus

Bernard Septimus

Jacob E. Safra Professor of Jewish History and Sephardic Civilization, Emeritus

Ruth Wisse

Ruth Wisse

Martin Peretz Professor of Yiddish Literature and Comparative Literature, Emerita

Peter Machinist

Peter Machinist

Hancock Research Professor of Hebrew and other Oriental Languages, Emeritus