Our Governance

Center for Jewish Studies Executive Committee

(as of August 31, 2017)

Director:

David Stern

Harry Starr Professor of Classical and Modern Jewish and Hebrew Literature and
Professor of Comparative Literature
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Department of Comparative Literature
Cell phone:  267-307-5287
Office phone: 617-495-3977
Email:  dstern@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Semitic Museum 209

Executive Steering Committee Members:

Irit Aharony

Senior Preceptor in Modern Hebrew
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Phone: 617-495-7382
Email:  aharony@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Vanserg 121

Shaye J.D. Cohen

Nathan Littauer Professor of Hebrew Literature and Philosophy
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Phone: 617-496-6422
Email: scohen@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Semitic Museum 105

Noah Feldman

Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law; Senior Fellow of the Society of Fellows
Harvard Law School
Phone: 617-495-9140
nfeldman@law.harvard.edu
Office: Hauser 210

Sara Feldman

Preceptor in Yiddish
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Phone: 617-495-4676
Email: sarafeldman@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Vanserg 122

Luis Girón Negrón

Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and of Comparative Literature
Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
Phone: 617-495-2567
Email: giron@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Dana Palmer House 104

Peter E. Gordon

Amabel B. James Professor of History; Affiliate of the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures; Affiliate of the Department of Philosophy
Center for European Studies
Phone: 617-998-5419
Email: pgordon@fas.harvard.edu
Office: 27 Kirkland Street 305

Jay M. Harris

Harry Austryn Wolfson Professor of Jewish Studies, Dean of Undergraduate Education
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Phone: 617-495-0829
Email: jharris@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Semitic Museum 107

Joseph Koerner

Victor S. Thomas Professor of the History of Art and Architecture; Senior Fellow of the Society of Fellows
Department of History of Art and Architecture
Phone: 617-496-3997
Email:  koerner@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Sackler Building 520

Jon D. Levenson

Albert A. List Professor of Jewish Studies
Harvard Divinity School
Phone: 617-495-5955
Email: jon_levenson@fas.harvard.edu
Office: Divinity Hall 321

Eric Nelson

Robert M. Beren Professor of Government
Department of Government
Phone:  617-496-1737
Email: enelson@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  CGIS, Knafel Building, Room 403

Derek Penslar

William Lee Frost Professor of Jewish History
Department of History
Phone: 617-998-5408
Email: dpenslar@fas.harvard.edu
Office: 27 Kirkland Street 201

Andrew Teeter

Professor of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament
Harvard Divinity School
Phone: 617-496-2992
Email: ateeter@hds.harvard.edu
Office: Divinity Hall 305

Saul Zaritt

Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations and of Comparative Literature
Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
Department of Comparative Literature
Phone:  617-495-1715
Email:  zaritt@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Dana Palmer House 206

Advisory Committee Members:

Charles Berlin

Lee M. Friedman Bibliographer in Judaica
Harvard College Library
Widener Library, Judaica Division
Phone:  617-495-2985
Email:  cberlin@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Widener Library M

Stephen Greenblatt

John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities
Department of English
Phone:  617-495-2101
Email:  greenbl@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Barker Center 154

Paul J. Kosmin

John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Humanities; Joy Foundation Fellow
Department of the Classics
Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study
Phone:  617-495-1926
Email:  pjkosmin@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Boylston Hall 215

Kevin J. Madigan

Winn Professor of Ecclesiastical History
Harvard Divinity School
Phone:  617-496-6673
Email:  kmadigan@hds.harvard.edu
Office:  Andover Hall 403

Kay K. Shelemay

Gordon Watts Professor of Music and Professor of African and African American Studies
Department of Music
Department of African and African American Studies
Phone:  617-495-4008
Email:  shelemay@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Music Building 6

Doris Sommer

Ira Jewell Williams, Jr. Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and of African and African American Studies
Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
Department of African and African American Studies
Phone:  617-495-5273
Email: dsommer@fas.harvard.edu
Office:  Boylston Hall 417

Upcoming Events

  • Sunny Yudkoff: The Bacterial Turn in Yiddish Literature: Two Case Studies February 20, 2020 at 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm Harvard University, Adolphus Busch Hall, Hoffman Room, 27 Kirkland Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA Sunny Yudkoff is an Assistant Professor in the Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic and the Mosse/Weinstein Center for Jewish Studies at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Her first book, Tubercular Capital: Illness and the Conditions of Modern Jewish Writing (Stanford University Press, 2019), was awarded the Salon Wittmayer Baron Prize. Her work has appeared in Jewish Social Studies, Prooftexts, and Literature…
  • Conference: Beyond Translation: Vernacular Jewish Bibles, from Antiquity to Modernity February 24, 2020 at 9:00 am – 6:00 pm Harvard Faculty Club, East Dining Room, 20 Quincy St, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA Panel I: TheAncient PeriodPaul Kosmin, Harvard University (Chair)Annette Yoshiko Reed, New York University Steven Fraade, Yale UniversityPanel II: The Medieval PeriodNicholas Watson, Harvard University (Chair)Meira Polliack, Tel Aviv UniversityLuis Giron-Negron, Harvard UniversityPanel III: The Early Modern and Modern PeriodsJon Levenson, Harvard Divinity School (Chair)MarionAptroot, Heinrich-Heine-Universität DüsseldorfAbigail Gillman, Boston UniversityPanel IV: The Twentieth CenturySandra Naddaff, Harvard University (Chair) Naomi Seidman,…
  • Vivian Liska: The Jew as Migrant: From Theory to Poetry February 25, 2020 at 5:30 pm – 7:00 pm Harvard Divinity School, CSWR Common Room, 42 Francis Ave, Cambridge MA 02138 Annual List Lecture in Jewish StudiesVivian Liska is Professor of German literature and director of the Institute of Jewish Studies at the University of Antwerp, Belgium. Since 2013, she is Distinguished Visiting Professor in the GermanDivision of the Faculty of the Humanities at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She has published extensively on literary theory,…